Leadership candidates – Who’s who

Meet the 2018 candidates for Leader and Deputy Leader of the Green Party

Voting in a ballot box
Voting in a ballot box
Green World

The time has come once again for Green Party members to elect a new leadership team and executive committee. Voting will open on the 30 July and continue until 31 August, with the results to be announced shortly afterwards.

Caroline Lucas MP, who has announced she will not be standing for re-election after her two terms as Co-leader with Jonathan Bartley, commented: “I’m really proud of everything the party has achieved so far, and I am excited to see such a wide range of candidates keen to build on this success for the future. Britain needs a strong Green voice now more than ever. On issues from Brexit, to rising inequality and the Government’s reckless attitude to our environmental protections and climate targets, Greens will always speak truth to power. I will still be doing that in Parliament, and I look forward to seeing ever more Greens joining the national debate.”

Each candidate has provided a 'mini manifesto' covering their priorities for the role they are standing for. Click through to find out more.

Candidates for Leader:

Shahrar Ali

Jonathan Bartley and Sian Berry (running as Co-leaders)

Leslie Rowe

Candidates for Deputy Leader:

Aimee Challenor

Jonathan Chilvers

Andrew Cooper

Rashid Nix

Amelia Womack


10 positions on the Green Party Executive Committee (GPEx) and five positions on the Policy Development Committee are also up for election, and the latest hustings from around the country during the leadership race can also be viewed on Green World.